Experts Say

Treaty Banning the Bomb Takes UN Closer to its Prime Goal

Toward A Nuclear Free World | IDN-InDepth News
July 31, 2017
By Somar Wijayadasa

On July 7 2017, 122 member states of the United Nations voted to adopt a Treaty for the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons. It is the first legally binding international agreement to comprehensively prohibit nuclear weapons that may eventually lead towards their total elimination. All nine nuclear weapons states and the U.S. allies under its nuclear “umbrella” in NATO, Japan, South Korea, and Australia boycotted the negotiations. Netherlands attended the Conference but voted against the treaty, as it is a member of NATO.
Share |

Back to top

Terms of Use